Urban Decay: De-Slick Primer

I recently tried the Urban Decay De-Slick Primer on a whim; there was a John Lewis price match event and I couldn’t resist buying…well, more than a few extra bits.

Specs

Name: Urban Decay De-Slick Complexion Primer

Size:28ml

Price: £23

Available: Urban Decay, all major department stores and online

Claims:

De-Slick Complexion Primer keeps oil in check even in the most extreme conditions, like when you’re under hot studio lights or in the muggy heat of a New York City summer. Mattify and smooth skin while minimising the appearance of pores. The sheer nude formula dries down invisibly, so it’s great for midday touch-ups on top of makeup too!

This oil-free, paraben-free formula contains a high-tech, mattifying blend of veegum (a natural clay derivative) and silica (which can absorb up to three times its weight in oil!). The result? Beautifully perfected, shine-free skin and tighter pores. De-Slick also contains conditioning ingredients like aloe vera.

In studies of De-Slick Complexion Primer, immediately after use:*

100% of participants had a reduction in shine

100% had a reduction in pore visibility.

100% had smoother-looking skin.

100% had more even-toned skin.

*Based on clinical grading in a 30-person study.”

DSCF1072

Application and Review

I applied the primer as normal, on cleansed and moisturised skin. In order to test its true qualities, I did not set it with a powder before my foundation. Just primer, foundation, highlight and contour and then set my under eyes and nose with my Sasha Cosmetics Buttercup powder. The other areas of my face I set with my MAC Mineralize skin finish powder.

Verdict: This primer SAVES LIVES. I noticed that my make-up looked close to flawless towards the end of the day, with like 15% deterioration (things like skin oiliness or my make-up sliding/evaporating/fading) throughout a 10-12 hour day. This is a new record for me and will definitely be of value during hot summers or nights out.

Positive points to note about the Primer:

When you first apply, there is an immediate decrease in pore visibility

It IMMEIDTAELY mattifies and this creates an amazing smooth base for ANY and EVERY type of foundation

Longevity of my make-up on top of this primer was AMAZING. For a primer which I have not heard that much about, I was so surprised!

The price is totally fair. £23.00 for 28ml. For the effect that it has, it is so worth it to me. And regardless of its effectiveness, it is definitely not the most expensive primer out there.

It is TOTALLY mattifying. I cannot stress this enough. If you have dry skin, or even combination skin, this may be too drying for you. If you have oily skin however; this could be your new holy grail.

The 28ml that you get lasts a long long time as a little goes a long way. I can do my face in 2 pumps, which is saying something because I have a big face!

X – The ONLY downer, is that the formula dries out a little at the pump spout, where it comes out.  So I notice that I lose at least half a cm of product every-time that I use it, even though I keep the cap on at all times and it is in a drawer, not out in the open. This sucks. However, it has lasted me a long time so far, I am not even half way through the product yet, so this is more of a warning than an actual complaint!

Calling all Combination/Oily gals! Have you ever tried this product? You need to!

 

xTx

5 thoughts on “Urban Decay: De-Slick Primer

Leave a comment